Saturday, January 19

Sirajganj District Information

atlas of sirajganj

Sirajganj District, Bangladesh

Sirajganj district is located in the northern part of Bangladesh. The historic Salanga genocide took place in the region in 1922. Many people were killed and a number of wounded when police opened fire on an assemblage of people gathered at Salanga Hat as a part of the Khelafat and non co-operation movement against British Company under the leadership of Maulana Abdur Rashid Tarkabagish. Besides All India Muslim League Conference (1942), Brahmo Samaj convention (1928), All India Congress Party conference (1924) etc are the remarkable chapters of the region. During the War of Liberation a great battle was fought between the freedom fighters and the Pakistani army in Tarash upazila on Naogaon in which the Pakistani army was defeated and about 150 members were killed. During 11 to 14 December another battle was fought between the enemy army and the heroic freedom fighters at Shailabari in which Pakistani army was defeated also. Sirajganj achieved liberation in 14 December 1971. Sirajganj subdivision was established in 1845 during the British East India Company period and was a part of Pabna district. It was turned into a district in 1984. The Geo position of the district is between 24˚00’ to 24˚40’ North latitudes and between 89˚20’ to 89˚50’ east longitude.

Bordered By: Sirajganj District is bordered by Bogra district to the north, Pabna district to the south, Jamalpur and Tangail district to the east, Natore, Bogra and a part of Pabna district to the west.

Administration: The area of Sirajganj is 2402.05 Sq Km. It is under Rajshahi Division. There are 06 Municipalities in Sirajganj named Ullapara, Sahjadpur, Shirajgonj, Belkuchi, Royganj and Kazipur. The number of Upazilla (sub district) in Sirajganj district is 09, named- Shirajgonj Sadar, Raygonj, Ullapara, Chauhali, Kazipur, Kamarkhanda, Tarash, Belkuchi and Sahajadpur containing 82 Unions, 1300 Mauzas and 2016 Villages. 

Population: The total population of Sirajganj district is 30,97,489 (Male- 15,51,368 and Female- 15,46,121), sex ratio 100:100, Population Density 1290/Sq Km and annual growth rate is 1.38%.

Literacy: The Literacy Rate of Sirajganj district is 42.10% (Male- 45.10% and Female- 39.00%). School attendance rate is 50.50% for 5 to 24 years age group.

Other Important Data: The postal code of Sirajganj district is 6700 and NWD Code is 0751. Total Parliament seat in Sirajganj is 06. During the liberation war, Sirajganj was under Sector Number 07. Urbanization rate of the district is 14.09%. Average rainfall of the region is 1610 mm.

Rivers: Jamuna, Kartoa, Boral, Ishamoti, Fuljora etc.

Agro Products: Paddy, Jute, Sugarcane, Onion, Garlic, Potato, Yam, Peanuts, Chilly, Mastered etc.

Remarkable Personalities from Sirajganj District

Abdur Rashid Tarkabagaish, Maulana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani (Politician), Dr Abdul Mannan, (Educationist), Mohadeb Saha (Poet), Shiraj Ali Chowdhury (Land Lord), Esan Chandra Roy (Farmer Rebal Leader), Rajani Kanta Sen (Poet), Jadeb Chandra Chakraborti (Mathematician), Ismail Hossain Sheraji (Poet), Captain M. Munsur Ali (Politician), M. A. Matin (Businessman), Prof.Dr.M.A.Mannan( Islamic Personality), Nazibur Rahaman (Writer), Mohammad Barketullah (Writer), Fazle Lohani, Abdullah Al Muti (Scientist), Suchitra Sen (Actress), Mohammad Nasim (Politician)  etc.

bangabandhu jamuna multipurpose bridge

Tourist Places in Sirajganj District

Jamuna Multipurpose Bridge, Elieot Bridge, Shahjadpur Kuthibari, Rabindra Kacharibari, Khaja Younous Ali Medical College, Milk vita Plant, Eco park, Baghabari Power Plant, Shah Mokhdum Mosque, Milkvita Plant, House of Jadeb Chakraborti and Ismail Hossain Shiraji, Graveyard of Hazrat Enayatpuri (R), Graveyard of Shah Sharif Jindapir  (R), Joy Sagor, Noboratna Temple  etc.


Unknown said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Unknown said...

সারা বিশ্বে তুলে ধরার মত ইংরেজিতে সুন্দর একটি তথ্য।আরো বিভিন্ন নতুন তথ্য পেতে পারেন ডিজিটাল সিরাজগঞ্জ থেকে Digitalsirajganj

Post a Comment