Monday, January 21

Netrokona District Information

atlas of netrokona

Netrokona District, Bangladesh

Netrokona district is located in the eastern bank of Brahmaputra River. By reviewing of the Theoretical evidence, it is clear that the region was turned up from the sea or ocean and the habitable land area was formed. In the fourth century AD, the region was under the Gupta commanding area. The region and the west Mymensingh was under the region of Kamrupa and ruled by Samudra Gupta. In the last decade of fifteen century AD, during the period of Allauddin Hossain Shah (1493-1519), greater Mymensingh (including the region also) came under the Muslim ruled. In the next, the region was included in Mughal region in the period of Emperor Jahangir (1605-1627).

During the British East India Company period, Netrokona sub- division started its journey on 03 January 1882. Peasant revolt, Pagalpanthi revolt, Tonk and Tebhaga movements is the remarkable chapters of the region. In the Pakistan period the movement of Netrokona district formation was raised and in 1962 the formerly government acquired land to set up district headquarter in Kandua. But the planning could not success. After the independence of Bangladesh Netrokona sub- division was declared as a district on 17 January 1984 and the district stated its journey from 01 February 1984. The area of current Netrokona district is 2794.28 Sq Km.

Bordered By: Netrokona District is bordered by Meghalaya (Indian State) to the north, Kishoreganj district to the south, Sunamganj district to the east and Mymensingh district to the west.

Administration: It is under Dhaka Division. There are 05 Municipalities in Netrokona named Netrokona, Durgapur, Kandua, Mohongonj and Modon. The number of Upazilla (sub district) in Netrokona district is 10, named- Netrokona Sadar, Mohangonj, Modon, Khaliajuri, Kandua, Durgapur, Kalamakanda, Atpara, Barhatta and Purbadhala containing 86 Unions, 1537 Mauzas and 2282 Villages. 

Population: The population of Netrokona district is 22,29,642 (Male- 11,11,306 and Female- 11,18,336). Sex ratio is 99:100, Population Density 798/Sq Km and annual growth rate is 1.13%.

Literacy: The Literacy Rate of Netrokona district is 39.40% (Male- 40.90% and Female- 38.00%). School attendance rate is 49.40% for 5 to 24 years age group.

Other Important Data: The postal code of Netrokona district is 2400 and NWD Code is 0951. Total Parliament seat in Netrokona is 04. During the liberation war, Netrokona was under Sector Number 11. Urbanization rate of the district is 11.09%.

Rivers: Kongsha, Baulai, Shomeshori, Nitai, Sagura, Patkura, Dhanu, Moheswari etc and all revers of the district flow towards north east.

Agro Products: Paddy, Jute, Wheat, Oil seeds, Potato, Pulse, Yam, Jack fruit, Mango, Banana, Coconut, Papaya, Palm, Vegetables etc.

Remarkable Personalities from Netrokona District

Colonel Abu Taher (Martyer Freedom Figher), Humayun Ahmed (Great Writer and Film Maker), Dr. Jafor Iqbal (Educationist), Ahsan Habib (Cartoonist), Jatin Sarker, Justice Sahabuddin Ahmed, Helal Hafiz (Poet), Moni Shingha (Politician), Nirmolenda Gun (Poet), Taslima Nasrin (Writer) etc.


Tourist Attractions in Netrokona District

White Clay Field of Bijoypur, Monument of Tonka Movement, Sah Sultan Kamruddin Rumi`s Graveyard, Birishiri Cultural Academy, Someshor Royal Palace, Garo Hill, Beder Dighi, Kamala Rani Dighi, Landscape of Gobindrapur Hill, Sushang Jamidar Bari, Purbadhalar Bil and Jamidar Bari, Daulotpur Temp, Bathbar Hawor etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment