Saturday, January 19

Sylhet District Information

atlas of sylhet district

Sylhet District, Bangladesh

Sylhet district (Formerly Sri-hatta) is an ancient trading center located in the north- eastern part of Bangladesh. During the Sultan's period, the region was named “Jalalabad”. In the 14Th century Yemeni Saint Hazrat Shah Jalal (R) conquered Sylhet and started campaign on Islam. Sylhet district was established on 3 January 1782. Until 1878 AD, the region was under Dhaka division. In the same year in 12 September, Sylhet was included in the newly created Assam Province. Up to 1947 (excepting 1905-1911, the Bangla Vanga Period) it was remain a part of Assam. At the time partition in 1947, it was attached to the East Pakistan and was included in the Chittagong Division as a result of Referendum. Nanakara Revolution, Anti British Movement (1857) etc are the remarkable chapters of the region. The greater Sylhet was divided into four new districts named Sylhet, Sunamganj, Habiganj and Maulvibazar in 1983-1984. On 1 August 1995, Sylhet was declared as the 6th division of Bangladesh consisting of the four districts of the greater Sylhet. The Geo position of the district is between 24˚40’ to 25˚11’ North latitudes and between 91˚38’ to 92˚30’ east longitude.

Bordered By: Sylhet District is bordered by Khasia-Jainta Hill tracts of Indian Border area to the north, Maulvibazar district to the south, Kachhar and Karimganj districts of Assam (India) to the east, Sunamganj district to the west.

Administration: The area of Sylhet is 3452.07 Sq Km. It is a Divisional Headquarter also. There is a city corporation; four Municipalities in Sylhet named Golapganj, Beani Bazar, Jakiganj and Kanaighat. The number of Upazilla (sub district) in Sylhet district is 12, named- Shylet Sadar, Gopalgonj, Balagonj, Bishanath, Kanaighat, Fenjugonj, Jakigonj, Companigonj, Goainghat, Bianibazar and Jyntapur containing 102 Unions, 1554 Mauzas and 3206 Villages outside of metro area. 

Population: The total population of Sylhet district is 34,34,188 (Male- 17,26,965 and Female- 17,07,223), Sex ratio 101:100, Population Density 995/Sq Km and annual growth rate is 2.95%, tribal population 17,363.

Literacy: The Literacy Rate of Sylhet district is 51.20% (Male- 53.50% and Female- 48.90%). School attendance rate is 50.60% for 5 to 24 years age group.

Other Important Data: The postal code of Sylhet district is 3100 and NWD Code is 0821. Total Parliament seat in Sylhet is 06. During the liberation war, Sylhet was under Sector Number 04 & 05. Urbanization rate of the district is 21.94%. Average rainfall of the region is 3334 mm. The reserve forest area of the district is 236.42 sq Km almost located in the north- eastern part of the district. Major tribes are Monipuri, Khashia, Chakma, Tripura, Patra, Sawtal, Garo, Lushai etc.

Rivers: Surma, Kushiara, Sonai, Piain, Bagra, Nawa, Shawla, Dhamalia, Monu, Baradal, Juri, Goain, Dholai, Longla, Khowai, Sutang, Madhabpur, Mahasing, Khangi, Vottokhal, Kalni, Jamalpur, Boraba, Lova, Bogapani, Dhariana, Jadukata, Gopla, Mogai, Rakti, Painda, Vera, Sari, Dhanu Baulai etc.

Agro Products: Paddy, Tea, Orange, Mastered, Betel- Nut, Mango, Litchi etc.

Remarkable Personalities from Sylhet District

General M. A. G. Osmani (Commander General of Liberation War), Sayad Mujtaba Ali (Writer), Khirod Chandra Deb, Gurusaday Datta, Gobindra Chandra Deb, Bipin Chandra Paul, Abul Mal Abdul Muhit (Politician), Faruque Chowdhury, Major General Sadequar Rahaman Chowdhury, Dr M. A. Muktadir, Khan Bahadur Abdul Motin, Major General Azizur Rahaman, Major General Ezaz Ahmed, Inam Ahmed Chowdhury, Lie-u-ten-ant General Mashud Chowdhury, Shamser Mubin Chowdhury, C. M. Shafi Sami, Justice Amin Uddin Chowdhury etc.

nazimgarh resort


Tourist Places in Sylhet District

The Shrine of Hazrat Shah Jalal and Shaparan (R), Osmani Museum, Sahjalal University, Osmani International Airport, Tilagarh Eco Park (Alutila), Parjatan Corporation, Dream Land (Theme Park), Adventure World (Amusement Park), Osmani Shishu Udyan, Manipuri Para, Kin Bridge, Malnichora Tea Gardens, Fenjugonj Fertilizer Factory, Shahi Eidgah, Gour Govinda Fort, Ali Amjad's Clock Tower, Rampasha, Shree Chaitanya Temple, Jainta Rajbari, M.C College, Haripur Gas and Oil Field, Jaflong, Jyntapur Royal Palace, North-East Medical College, Temple of Chaytannya Deb, Vadeswar Tagore House, Kylastila, Orange Orchard, Gorduar Tomb, Gayebi Mosque etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment