Sunday, February 10

All information about Rajshahi Division in Bangladesh

Rajshahi Division, Bangladesh

Rajshahi is one of the seven administrative divisions of Bangladesh. It is also a metropolitan area among the nine and located in the mid- western part of Bangladesh. Rajshahi municipality is one of the ancient municipalities in Bangladesh and established in 1876 during the East India Company period. Rajshahi municipality was upgraded into City Corporation in 1991. The mighty river Padma bordered Rajshahi division to the south and the Jamuna River bordered to the eastern part of Rajshahi division and Rangpur division to the north and to the west the division is bordered with West Bengal of India. The ancient name of the region was “Barendravhumi”. Rajshahi region was once a part of Pundrubardhan of the ancient Banga state. The capital of Vijoy Sen was located 9 miles away to the west of Rajshahi town. Indigo resistance movement spread over Rajshahi during 1859-60. During the mass upsurge in 1969 Dr. Shamsuzzoha of Rajshahi University was killed when the great soul stood forward to protect his students. The largest mass- graveyard of Bangladesh located in the Rajshahi University area. Rajshahi district was established in 1772. Maldaha, Bogra, Pabna, Natore and Nawabganj districts were established dividing this district. There is a strong communicating infrastructure in the region. It takes about five hours road journey to communicate from the capital city Dhaka to Rajshahi. Until 2010 Rajshahi division contains 16 districts. Early in the same year, Rangpur division was formed with the 08 districts of the northern part of Rajshahi division. Now there are 08 districts in Rajshahi division. The major cities of Rajshahi division are Rajshahi, Bogra, Sirajganj, Pabna, Natore, Naogaon etc. The total current area of the division is 18,153.08 Sq Km. Total population of the division is 1,84,84,858 (male- 92,56,910 and female- 92,27,948) which is 11.55% of the total population of Bangladesh. Average sex ratio of Rajshahi division is 100:100 and annual growth rate of the division is 1.21%. The average population density is 1,018/Sq Km. Among the population 30,41,999 live in urban area, 275,023 live in other urban area and 1,51,67,836 people live in rural area. The average literacy rate of the division is 48.00% (Male- 50.50% and female- 46.60%). Average school school attendance rate is 53.50% for 5 to 24 years old. The average urbanization rate of the division is 17.94%. Rajshahi is famous for different kinds of mango production and for world famous silk industries. So Rajshahi is called “Silk City”. The 08 districts of Rajshahi division are as following-
                                      1. Rajshahi
                                      2. Chapainawabganj
                                      3. Bogra
                                      4. Joypurhat
                                      5. Pabna
                                      6. Sirajganj
                                      7. Nawgaon
                                      8. Natore

Largest District          : Nawgaon (3435.65 Sq Km)
Smallest District        : Joypurhat (1012.41 Sq Km)
City Corporation         : 01
Municipality               :59
Upazilla                     : 70
Union                        : 564
Village                      : 14,075
Parliament Seat         : 72


Mobile App Developers said...

Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

Nazrul IslamMD said...

very good ! I am with you . go ahead

Post a Comment